Learners library

I prefer

South Korean

The Korean alphabet, is the native alphabet of the Korean language and is called Hangul. It is a separate script from Hanja, the logographic Chinese characters which are also used to write Korean. It was created in the mid-15th century, and is now the official script of both North Korea and South Korea.

Hangul is a true alphabet of 24 consonant and vowel letters. However, instead of being written linearly like the letters of the Latin alphabet, Hangul letters are grouped into blocks, such as 한 han; each of these blocks transcribes a syllable. That is, although 한 may look like a single character, it is composed of three distinct letters: ㅎ h, ㅏ a, and ㄴ n. Each Hangul block consists of at least two such letters, including at least one each of 14 consonants and 10 vowels. Additionally the Korean alphabet has 5 double consonants. The blocks in Korean are arranged either horizontally from left to right or vertically from top to bottom, depending on the consonants.









































Log in or register?

The site uses its own virtual currency called 'credits' to handle all transactions. Any user can buy credits and sell credits for real money from their profile page. If you would like tutoring, but do not wish to pay for it, you can also earn them by tutoring others.